NOFAS Gala Celebrates International FASD Awareness Day and Healthy Pregnancies

On Thursday, September 12, over 200 guests joined NOFAS at the Embassy of Italy in Washington, DC to recognize International FASD Awareness Day and raise funds for the NOFAS Smart Moms, Healthy Babies initiative to educate the public about the risk of alcohol during pregnancy and to support FASD individuals and families.



View many more photos from the event here.

Amelia Segal, a television personality and meteorologist for Washington, DC’s top rated news team, NBC4, served as Mistress of Ceremonies. The highlight of the evening was a maternity fashion show. Ten pregnant models wowed the crowd by walking the runway wearing the exclusive styles of More of Me Maternity Designs and fabulous accessories from Shaune Bazner.

FASD champion, Senator Lisa Murkowski, delivered a stirring address that included a poignant story recounting her visit to a remote Alaskan school where one teacher told her that all of his students had FASD. She pledged to continue the fight in Congress. Virginia congressman Jim Moran, a longtime NOFAS supporter and advocate for children and adults with developmental disabilities, also attended.  Ambassadors from many countries, including Canada and Panama, attended as well.

Tania Peterman, a young woman living with FASD, received a standing ovation after her powerful and heartfelt remarks describing her challenges and success. NOFAS Board of Directors Chair Kate Boyce, who created the maternity fashion show concept, thanked the many generous sponsors, including underwriters Holly and Bob Kimmitt. Counselor Carlo Romeo of the Embassy of Italy opened the program by welcoming guests.

View the event program below for a listing of sponsors and special guests.

Smart Moms, Health Babies 2013 Program by nofas_usa

Ambassadors Honorary Host Committee

His Excellency the Ambassador of Australia Kim Beazley
His Excellency the Ambassador of Nicaragua Francisco Obadiah Campbell
Her Excellency the Ambassador of Ecuador Nathalie Cely Suárez
His Excellency the Ambassador of Spain Ramon Gil-Casares
His Excellency the Ambassador of Afghanistan Eklil and Sultana Hakimi
His Excellency the Ambassador of Honduras Jorge Ramón Hernández Alcerro
His Excellency the Ambassador of Panamá Mario Jaramillo
His Excellency the Ambassador of Mexico Eduardo Medina Mora Icaza
His Excellency the Ambassador of Singapore Ashok and Gouri Mirpuri
His Excellency the Ambassador of Switzerland Manuel and Christine Sager
His Excellency the Ambassador of Azerbaijan Elin and Lala Suleymanov
His Excellency the Ambassador of Turkey Namik and Fügen Tan
His Excellency the Ambassador of the United Kingdom Peter Westmacott
His Excellency the Ambassador-At-Large of Pakistan Ray and Shaista Mahmood
Her Excellency the Ambassador-At-Large for Global Women’s Outreach Melanne Verveer
Honorable Ljubica Z. Acevska (Macedonia)
Honorable Timothy A. Chorba (U.S., Singapore)
Honorable Peter Romero, (U.S., Ecuador)
Honorable Alexander Watson, (U.S., Peru)
Honorable Amy Bondurant, (U.S., OECD)
Honorable Robert M. Kimmitt, (U.S., Germany)
Honorable Thomas J. Siebert, (U.S., Sweden)
Honorable Frank G. Wisner, (U.S., Egypt and India)

“Smart Moms, Healthy Babies” International Gala Event Planning Committee

Kate Boyce Reeder, Chair
Kira Elvey Lopez & Kadambari Murali Wade, Co-Chairs
Virgina Boylan * Tom Donaldson * Jamie du Pont * Eugenia Edwards * Ruth Espey-Romero
Anne Marie Finley * Mara Giorgio * Karla Gonzalez * Katia Delrahim Howlett
Jennifer Hughes * Fariba Jahanbani * Amy Kaufman * Nour Kazoun * Lindsey Weber Keljo
Alden Leonard * Antonella Lo Re * Emma Lo Re * Patty Marks * Kathy Mitchell * Kate Moss
Precious Murchison * Sheila Rabaut * Katelyn Reitz * Larisa Romanenko *
Remona Soleimani * Karen Thiel * Amy Tilley * Dani White * Parastoo Zahedi

Honorary Host Committee

Honorable Eric and Patty Shinseki
Honorable Tim Johnson, Lisa Murkowski, Don Young and Frank Pallone
Senate Champions and Congressional FASD Caucus Co-Chairs

Honorable Mark Begich
Honorable Barbara Boxer
Honorable John Carney
Honorable William Lacy Clay
Honorable Michael D. Crapo
Honorable Tom Daschle
Honorable Norman D. Dicks
Honorable Kristen Gillibrand
Honorable Heidi Heitkamp
Honorable Steny Hoyer
Honorable AmyKlobuchar
Honorable Carolyn Maloney
Honorable Doris Matsui
Honorable Gregory W. Meeks
Honorable James P. Moran
Honorable Pat Roberts
Honorable Jeanne Shaheen
Honorable Jon Tester
Honorable Tom Udall
Honorable Henry A. Waxman 
Honorable Kenneth M. Bensten
Honorable Lois Capps
Honorable Bob Casey
Honorable Tom Cole
Honorable Joseph Crowley
Honorable Rosa DeLauro
Honorable Mike Enzi
Honorable Kay Hagan
Honorable Jim Himes
Honorable Tim Kaine
Honorable Zoe Lofgren
Honorable Edward J. Markey
Honorable Carolyn McCarthy
Honorable Barbara A. Mikulski
Honorable Jack Reed
Honorable Aaron Schock
Honorable Debbie Stabenow
Honorable Patrick Tiberi
Honorable Mark Warner

Honorable Barbara Favola

National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Board of Directors

Kate Boyce Reeder, Chair * Larry Rosenthal, Vice Chair
Virginia Boylan, Secretary * Katia Delrahim Howlett, PhD, Treasurer
Neal Bear, MD * Stacy Bohlen * Chuck Bunnell * Anne Marie Finley * Eugene Hoyme, MD
Jennifer Hughes * Dale Kildee * Kate Moss * Thomas Rabaut * Edward Riley, PhD
Suzette Fisher, Board Representative of NOFAS’ 36 Affiliates
Tom Donaldson, NOFAS President (ex officio)